Happy New Year from Market 32!

Market 32

Prime Minister Netanyahu, actress Mayim Bialik to join religious and political leaders to pay tribute to the late Rabbi Steinsaltz

Rabbi Adin Steinzaltz Photo courtesy of the Steinsaltz Center.

To mark a month since the death of world renowned Talmudic and Torah scholar Rabbi Adin Even-Israel Steinsaltz, The Steinsaltz Center will host an online event entitled, “The Steinsaltz Legacy: Jewish Learning for All. Today, Tomorrow, Always,” with guest speakers including Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Former UK Chief Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, Former U.S. Senator Joseph Lieberman, leading author Dara Horn, award winning actress Mayim Bialik, and Rabbi Meni Even-Israel, son of the late Rabbi Steinsaltz.

The event will take place, Tuesday, Sept. 8,  at 8 p.m. EST/ 7 p.m. CST/ 6 p.m.  MST/ 5 p.m.  PST, and will be accessible on http://www.steinsaltz-center.org

The program will focus on the rabbi’s legacy of bringing the words and teachings of Judaism to the widest audience, building understanding and respect within the Jewish community, and building bridges of mutual understanding between all faiths and peoples.

In addition to this keynote event, The Steinsaltz Center has initiated and will participate in a range of upcoming events to commemorate the rabbi’s life and teachings, and to begin the work of continuing his legacy.

Events are due to take place in Israel, USA and Europe, in Hebrew, English and Italian, and in partnership with leading institutions including, The Office of the President of Israel, The 929 Initiative, NCSY, The London School of Jewish Studies, The United Synagogue (UK), and others.

Speaking on the importance of the events, Rabbi Adin Even-Israel Steinsaltz’s son and Director of the Steinsaltz Center, Rabbi Meni Even-Israel commented, “We are blessed to continue to hold high the bright torch of my late father’s legacy, even in the dark moments after he has left us. His life’s mission was to open up the wonders of the Torah and Jewish teachings and philosophy to everyone, and we remain dedicated to this important task. Just a brief look at the participants – from prime ministers and rabbis, to Hollywood stars and authors – speaks volumes for the way my father touched the lives of many in so many walks of life.”

0
0

0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.