Neil Golub

SCHENECTADY–The Schenectady Jewish Community Center (SJCC) will host its 10th annual Robert J. Ludwig Community Service Awards Gala on Thursday, Dec. 9, in Key Hall at Proctors Theatre, 432 State St., Schenectady. The award program, from 6 to 9 p.m. will also feature cocktails, hors d’oeuvres, a dinner and dessert.

The 2021 honorees are:

Neil Golub – Golub will receive the Philanthropic Leadership Award.  He will be honored, according to organizers, for his ability of exacting change throughout the region. “This change comes through his investment in community, encouraging peoples’ desire to be and grow with one another.”

CDPHP – Capital District Physicians Health Plan (CDPHP) will receive the Corporate Partnership Award. The organization is honored, according to organizers, for its commitment to investing back into the community. “CDPHP values community and has supported SJCC youth programs through grants and has provided the SJCC staff, much like those in the greater Capital Region, quality health and wellness options.”

Niskayuna Community Foundation – The Niskayuna Community Foundation will receive the Community Service Award. The foundation is honored, according to organizers, for inspiring generosity, encouraging equity, and investing in the community. “Like the SJCC, the Niskayuna Community Foundation believes opportunity for greatness begins with community.”

According to organizers, this year’s gala will support critical programs and services in the community and afford the SJCC an opportunity to continue to flourish. The SJCC Board holds this gala in memory of the Center’s friend and mentor the late Robert J. Ludwig. The dinner tribute is designed to carry on Ludwig’s tradition of community responsibility and partnership by honoring those individuals and organizations that epitomize the spirit of these awards.

This year the SJCC notes its 100th anniversary of serving the community.

Community members may purchase a gala ticket for $150 per person. Individuals may also become a part of the honorary committee by purchasing an honorary committee ticket for $175 per person, which will include having their name listed as an honorary committee member in the gala program book. An invitation to the gala or tickets may be obtained by e-mailing the