Our next print edition will be August 22
Our next eNews will be August 22.

Candle Lighting Time for Albany, NY:
Friday, August 23, 2019 7:27 pm

Ad reservations are accepted until Thursday, 5 p.m., 7 days prior to publication date.

Local news will be accepted for consideration  until Tuesday at 5 p.m., 10 days prior to publication.

Three named to board of Congregation Ohav Shalom

Jessica Tannenbaum-Rosen

Joshua Cantor-Stone

Joshua Schulman-Marcus

ALBANY–Congregation Ohav Shalom, a Conservative egalitarian congregation in Albany, has announced three new members to its board of trustees, Joining the board of trustees this year are Joshua Cantor-Stone, Joshua Schulman-Marcus and Jessica Tannenbaum-Rosen.

“All three of our newest board members embody the spirit of community and bring talent, expertise and energy to the table,” said Judy Avner, Ohav Shalom’s president.

Cantor-Stone is a graduate of Yale University and most recently received his master’s degree in public administration from the University at Albany. He is a project manager for the Jahnel Group, a software development company in Schenectady. He and his wife Sarah, a doctoral student in the University of Albany’s Department of Atmospheric Sciences, live in Albany. He recently completed the YESOD program, which is the Jewish Federation’s leadership development program.

Schulman-Marcus and his family joined Ohav Shalom after relocating to the region in 2016. He is a cardiologist at Albany Medical Center. After completing his undergraduate studies at Brown University, Schulman-Marcus earned his medical degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine. He completed a residency in internal medicine at New York Presbyterian Hospital, where he also completed his fellowship training in cardiovascular disease.

Tannenbaum-Rosen has 16 years of experience with General Electric in a variety of finance roles across the energy sector (gas power, wind energy, solar power) and now serves as the executive finance systems leader for the gas power division. She also manages the GE Power finance leadership development program, an early career program mentoring 40 participants per year. She earned her bachelor’s degree in finance and international business from Penn State University and her MBA from Union College.

The full leadership listing of the Ohav Shalom Board of Trustees for 2019-2020:


Judy Avner, president; Shari Piper, secretary; Ed Jacobs, first vice president; Gregg Fox, treasurer; Andy Salem, second vice president; and Libby Post, immediate past president

Board of Trustees (listed alphabetically):

Antoinette Deitcher, Wendy Kay Bates, Joshua Cantor-Stone, Jane Ginsburg, Brad Gornstein, Aaron Israel, Jean Kaback, Jeremy Kassel, David Levine, Sharon Lozman, Deborah Sturm Rausch, Heather Rockwood, Joshua Schulman-Marcus, Kathryn Sheingold, Jessica Tannenbaum-Rosen, Susan Ungerman, Jay Worona, and Margery Zucker

Information about the board may be obtained at https://www.ohavshalom.org/get-acquainted/board-of-trustees/.

Congregation Ohav Shalom, led by Rabbi Daniel Ornstein and Rabbi Rena Kieva, is affiliated with The United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.